Stamp issue information

150 Years Constitution and Parliament

150 Years of the Constitution
Face value CHF 1.00
Motif 150 Years of the Constitution
150 Years of the Parliament
Face value CHF 1.40
Motif 150 Years of the Parliament

In 2012 there will be two further important anniversaries to celebrate in Liechtenstein alongside the celebrations associated with the purchase of the County of Vaduz by the House of Liechtenstein in 1712: this year both Constitution and Parliament look back over 150 years, some of them turbulent. When in 1860 the Age of Absolutism came to an end in Austria, the path was open to wideranging constitutional reform in the Principality of Liechtenstein too. While the Constitution signed by Prince Johann II on 26 September 1862 upheld the old monarchical principle, the Regent was bound by a written Constitution and could rule with only qualified freedom of action. Greater responsibility now rested instead with the people, inasmuch as they were now given the right to participate directly in the formulation of national policy by electing the 15 (today 25) Members of the newly established Parliament (Landtag). The Prince continued however to appoint the Government, judges and civil servants, he had supreme command of the military and determined foreign policy. Parliament could now participate in forming laws appropriate to the country’s circumstances and could also deliberate and pass resolutions on the public finances. Things which had always been forbidden to the former subjects, a repeated cause of unrest in the country in the preceding decades. The ceremonial opening of the first Parliament eventually took place on 29 December 1862. Each of the two stamps designed by the graphic artist Cornelia Eberle is based on two elements. These are firstly the Vereinsthaler (“union thaler“) introduced in Liechtenstein in 1862, and secondly the first page of the Constitutional Charter signed by Prince Johann II (face value CHF 1.00) relating to the authorisation of Governor Karl Haus von Hausen by Prince Johann II to formally open Parliament (face value CHF 1.40). The Vereinsthaler was a silver coin common to the member states of the German Customs Union, to which Liechtenstein too belonged. It was the official currency from 1857 to 1907. One could describe it today as a kind of forerunner of the EURO.

Date Of Issue
05. March 2012
Cornelia Eberle, Eschen
Stamp format
42 x 28 mm
13 ½ x 13 ¼
Sheet format
205 x 146 mm
Offset, 4-farbig, FM Raster
und Multihöhe Hochprägung
Cartor Security Printing, Paris
Truwhite FSC Mix Credit 110g/m²
Consultation and Contact

Liechtensteinischen Post AG
Philatelie Liechtenstein
Alte Zollstrasse 11
9494 Schaan

Telefon +423 399 44 66
E-Mail: philatelie@post.li



Jump back to the top